I don’t remember the first book I ever read…I think it went something like Matt the Rat or Pet Pete.  Phonics did teach me to read – though I still make fun of Hooked on Phonics commercials.  Those first books wet my appetite for reading & I have never ever been able to satisfy it yet.  All throughout my childhood I could always be found reading.  I exhausted no end of batteries using my flashlight to read under the covers late into the night, read when I should have been studying, spent hours and hours in a tree or on a blanket outside devouring whatever book I could get my hands on. I literally read everywhere I went with the exception of when I was riding my bike – but believe me I tried.

I’m still in love – I am currently reading 5 – yep that’s right – 5 books!  Six if you count the one I’m listening too!

Here’s what is on my bed stand, coffee table, kitchen or bathroom counter, or end table right now.

I wasn’t sure that I wanted to read this one but after hearing good review after review, I decided to give it a shot.

I found this little treasure on the clearance shelf at half-price books.  I’m always fascinated with people who turn their every day people watching into a good book.

I had absolutely zero desire to read this book when it was given to me.  I have never been an early adopter to anyone that the Christian community puts up on a pedestal.  So even though this sweet man is a personal friend and hero of my pastor – I wanted nothing to do with him.  I’ve since changed my view.  While I do not idolize Dr. Piper at all, I have found his books to be well researched and chock full of scripture rather than one man’s opinionated ramblings.

I got this book at work a couple of years ago and shelved it.  I found it when I was cleaning out this spring and decided to make it one of my summer reads.  I’m only on the first few pages as I just picked it up.

As many of you know I have a deep love of Indians.  They were my family growing up.  Indian food is to me what Mexican food is to most Texans….home cookin’.  This historical novel is a very fascinating look into a very real and colorful Emperor’s palace.

What are you reading this summer?  What are your favorite books that you go back to over and over again? Whose writing makes the words come alive for you? Tell me!

