Tags

I have found a new fun hobby, thanks to my friends Tim and Cheryl Gleason in Chicago.  GEOCACHING!

By definition from the official website  geocaching is “Geocaching is a high-tech treasure hunting game played throughout the world by adventure seekers equipped with GPS devices. The basic idea is to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, outdoors and then share your experiences online. Geocaching is enjoyed by people from all age groups, with a strong sense of community and support for the environment.”

Basically I describe it as a fun treasure hunt.   At first I thought it was kind of nerdy, but then I got into it.  I pull up my handy dandy iphone app and find where 3 are in the area and go hunt them down.  Some are in obscure places and it takes some looking to find them.  Other’s I’ve found have been in plain sight if you know what you are looking at.  Some are out of the way so you can find them without being noticed and others are surrounded by non-geocachers (called muggles for all you Harry Potter fans out there), so you have to be careful when grabbing, signing and putting back.

I think the most fun for me (yes this is nerdy) is that as I drive around my neighborhood and pass hiding places I have found I know there is a secret there that others pass by every day and know nothing about.  ha! These are some caches I’ve found in the past couple of weekends.

Cleverly hidden in a lightpost

Found in a storm drain

Found in the top of pole of a sign in a parking lot

One in a series hidden in bus stops around the city

Another light pole find, with lots of stuff to trade.

The best part about this is it can be done anywhere as there are caches hidden all over the world.  So I can go find as many as I want on all of my adventures.  Wanna play? Come out with me sometime and join me.  This is fun, free and for the most part outside….apparently there some ammo boxes and other big finds out there….let the searching begin!

Share

