I’ve been thinking a lot about words lately and how that my generation seems to always go to the extreme when talking to one another or describing something.  Words such as “epic, amazing, awesome, incredible, starving, love.”  Whatever happened to simply being hungry, or really liking something?   An overused word loses its meaning quickly and then new words have to be created or thought up to outdo that feeling.

I am guilty of this.  I often say “I’m starving!”  When what I really mean is “I could eat right now”.  I have felt guilty of this lately – maybe it is part of growing up or maybe it is just having a world view.  But I have seen the starving, and those who have no clue where their next meal is coming from – this person is not me – I am not starving.

And this word “love”.  How incredibly overused is this?  I love my mom, I love this movie, I love that song, I love Indian food….only one of these uses of love is true love – relational, real, heartfelt, etc.

While I enjoy this movie and that song may move me and I may get true statisfaction out of Indian food….do I really LOVE those things?

I want to go back to a more disciplined way of speaking, truely thinking about what I say and what the words are meant to convey.  I’m giving myself a bit of a personal challenge to be more disciplined in my descriptors and to be more careful in my speech.

Don’t get me wrong here, I believe that when you love someone you should definitely tell them. I say it to family, friends and friends like family – because I mean it.  However, I recently found this quote by Fred Rogers…and it continues to come back to my mind…Sometimes I think “like” might just mean so much more than “love”……

“When I say it’s you I like, I’m talking about that part of you that knows that life is far more than anything you can ever see or hear or touch. That deep part of you that allows you to stand for those things without which humankind cannot survive. Love that conquers hate, peace that rises triumphant over war, and justice that proves more powerful than greed.” 
— Fred Rogers

i like you

I like you

{I.LIKE.YOU}

