Tags

, ,

Somedays it all gets overwhelming this balancing of life. Wake up, walk dog, get coffee, get dressed, get off to work, work feverishly on a project just to find out that it is going to be put on a back burner and you should now be working on two other projects, deadlines, phone calls, a hundred emails, dash home to walk dog, gulp down food, off to whatever event one might have that night – feel guilty that not enough time is being spent with dog, sit in night meeting/event and think of all the of the things at home that are not getting done….laundry, cooking, walking dog for exercise, the gym, change the oil, wash the car, phone calls to be made, texts to be sent, friends to pray for, people to encourage, flop exhausted into bed to battle insomnia trying to remember if I left out anything….fall asleep just long enough to wake up and do it all over again the next day.

STOP!!!!

And then, a still, small voice whispers…
“Breathe, my child, seek Me first, and in Me you will find the strength to accomplish all that you have to do today. Lay against Me, Breathe. I’ve got this all under control – you don’t have to try to control it all. I laid the foundations of the earth, I created the expanse of the ocean and told it just how far it was allowed to come onto the shore, I command the morning, and cause the dayspring to know its place, I hold the storehouses of snow and hail and sunshine and rain in my backyard, I part the light and scatter the east wind across the earth, I tell the lightning where to go and put wisdom in the inward parts and understanding into hearts, I provide food for the sparrows….I love you.”

But from there you will seek the LORD your God
and you will find Him,
if you search after him with all your heart
and with all your soul.
– Deuteronomy 4:29

My soul responds in song

