Tags

, , , , , ,

This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending Catalyst 2011 with my dear friends Tim and Cheryl Gleason.  I also got to spend some quality time loving on my 4 month old niece – could not get enough of that precious girl!

I spent two full days listening to speakers like Jim Collins, Dave Ramsey, Priscilla Shirer, Francis Chan and Andy Stanley.   I heard inspiring stories from Blake Mycoskie, Katie Davis, and Derrek Kayongo – every day people who just followed what was put in front of them to make a difference.

I have pages and pages and pages of notes, because I am a note taker and that is how I process information.

Here are a few of the highlights & tidbits I took away:

-You can’t shut it all out, but you can’t take it all on. – Andy Stanley

-Be to one what you want to be to everyone. – Andy Stanley

-You don’t have to be fair. -Andy Stanley

-Bad decisions done with good intentions – are still bad decisions.  – Jim Collins

-Fire bullets & then fire cannons. – Jim Collins

-The signature of mediocrity is chronic inconsistency. – Jim Collins

-We are often waiting for the next thing to push us over the edge – instead of just taking the step in front of us.

-People Matter. – Dave Ramsey

-Being generous is not just what you give, but how you treat people. -Dave Ramsey

-Fear is vision without Hope. -Mark Driscoll

-The Yankee’s lost – this means two things – God is sovereign and He loves us.  – Mark Driscoll

-Reset your worst case scenario. – Mark Driscoll

-Not all that is done in “mercy” is merciful – sometimes it does more harm than good. – Scott Todd

-Pity demoralizes, one way giving depletes. – Scott Todd

-Hating racisist, anti-gay, anti-semitic, anti-this and anti that is not the same as having love for those same people. -Dr. Cornel West

-We are not tired because we are doing too much, we are tired because we are doing the wrong thing or have forgotten the love along the way.  -Scott Todd

-If I am not careful I’ll miss out on the right now, by waiting on what’s to come. -Priscilla Shirer

