There is this verse that I memorized when I was young….I don’t remember the exact age, but it was YOUNG, probably 4 or 5, and probably with the help of some clever melody.  Over the past 30 or so years it comes up all the time.  I’ve heard it at church, told it to others, seen it on coffee mugs and cheesy ornate wall hangings.  It is a seemingly pretty little verse and because I was raised in an Independent Baptist Church I memorized it in the KJV, “Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.”  Since then I’ve been in other churches heard other versions all similar, and none greater or less than the other – “Cast all your anxiety….”  “Throw all your worry….” “Give all your worries and cares to God….”   No matter how the translation starts the verse – it ends in the same way every time “For he cares for you.”

Cares – again a word I’ve known my whole life, yet, up until recently, really did not have a clue to its actual definition.

Funny things words….we say them over and over, use them in conversation and even have somewhat of a jist as to their meaning….but when we learn the formal definition it can change the way we use or hear that word forever.

Cares: (n) the provision of what is necessary for the health, welfare, maintenance, and protection of someone or something.  (v) Feel concern; attach importance to something.

WOW! WOW! WOW! I’ll even say it backwards!! WOW!!!

By that definition that verse changed completely for me.  It stopped being a pretty little trite verse to be used to pretend to comfort one in need.  It became a powerful promise from a Daddy God who loves me!  “Cast all your anxiety on Him….Give all your worries and cares to God….casting all your care on him….because He has the provision of what is necessary for the health, welfare, maintenance, and protection of what I feel concern for and the things to which I attach importance.”

Those words change everything.  He cares for me.

When I am lonely…..He cares for me.
When I am sad…..He cares for me.
When I am anxious…..He cares for me.
When I am worried…..He cares for me.
When I am stressed out…..He cares for me.
When I am tired and weary and do not or cannot face it on my own any more – He cares for me.  He CARES for me.

So tonight, I as I sit here and think about how I am going to pay for school, my car that is in a perpetual state of disrepair, how I am going to pay my bills and what in the world is the next direction I need to go or road I need to take…..I have the promise that the God who created it all…..already has my provision long before I had the need, and in His appointed time will accomplish what He has for me.

So amazing……a few words….memorized as a young child….learned as an adult.

He cares for me, and that says it all.

